It’s not uncommon for West Virginia residents to drive home after having a drink or two at a party. Most drivers assume they’re still sober enough to drive at this point, but regardless of if they are or not, it’s still considered Driving Under the Influence.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI for short) charges are very serious. A driver is considered to be driving under the influence if they previously consumed alcohol or drugs that impacted their ability to drive.
What happens if you get a DUI in West Virginia?
Most West Virginia residents who are charged with a DUI risk having their license suspended or revoked completely. You might also be forced to receive ignition interlock restrictions.
Ignition interlock restrictions are devices attached to your car that require you to breathe into a breathalyzer to turn the car on. The breathalyzer tests your blood alcohol content and ensures you’re not driving under the influence.
Breathalyzers are also how the authorities determine if you were driving under the influence or not, in most courts of law. If your blood alcohol content is above the legal limit, you’ll be charged with a DUI regardless of how sober you feel.
What are the statistics for DUIs in West Virginia?
In order for the court to order ignition modifications or suspension of licenses, they have to convict you on those charges. Around 22 percent of people who were charged with a DUI in West Virginia were convicted.
Of all West Virginia counties, only 2 have DUI conviction rates above 75 percent. Most other counties will convict less than 50 percent of drivers charged with a DUI.
Regardless of what county you live in, DUIs can be damaging to both your reputation and way of life. It’s important to get behind the wheel only while sober and if you feel safe enough to drive.